What is the Green Deal?

The Green Deal is the new government initiative that is designed to help business and home owners to employ more green technologies in their properties. The idea is simple; install new green technology into your property with no up front costs. You will pay back the costs through your energy bill over a period of time. This is unlike a conventional loan because if you move out of the property the bill stays with the property where the savings are occurring and not with the bill payer.

The “golden rule” of the Green Deal is; the expected financial savings must be equal to or greater than the costs attached to the energy bill.

Key to the government’s thinking is that the building stock in Britain is some of the oldest in Europe and to bring it up to date, it needs to be properly insulated. Once the buildings are properly insulated, occupiers will spend less money on heating them.

This section of the website is developed to help you discover the information that you will need to benefit from the Green Deal.

You can now apply for the Green Deal. There are two main ways:

  • Through a Green Deal Provider
  • Through getting a Green Deal Assessment

Green Deal Assessors

To qualify for the Green Deal all properties will need to undergo an inspection by a certified Green Deal Assessor, sometimes referred to as Green Deal Advisors. The assessment will take into account the fabric of the building. It will also look at the way the occupants currently use the building.

The framework that the government is looking to work from is the current Energy Performance Certificate (EPC). An updated EPC will be needed to qualify for the Green Deal.

The Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) is working with the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS) on the accreditation scheme that all assessors will have to pass before they can make property inspections. The Asset Skills organisation will also be supplying training overseen by the UKAS.

The Green Deal Skills Alliance aims to be the umbrella under which all the training for the three main areas will come. The GDSA has three areas Sector Skills Councils – Asset Skills, Construction Skills and Summit Skills.

For both domestic and commercial customers the assessors will be looking at:

  • The fabric of the building, condition and materials used.
  • How the building is used, what hours is the building used, what purpose

By also considering regional weather patterns to calculate the savings that can be achieved should give accurate and impartial advice to domestic and commercial customers alike.